What a Lovely Job! ;) By DIANA PERMATA SARI

“What is your favourite food? I like pizza!!” said one of the Somalian kids who had been in U.K for only 2 weeks. I meet them once a week in Kings Norton High School, Birmingham. Playing Jenga, scrabble, eating sweets and fruit, and laughing together are all the activities that I do every Wednesday there. What a lovely job!! 😉

On Thursday afternoons, I participate in a family learning programme in Heartlands High School, Birmingham. It’s a programme for refugee families who have kids that study in that school.  We discuss anything that is related to refugees or asylum seekers. We do this in an interesting way, such as playing games! It’s so nice to meet, have lunch with, chat with, and laugh with families from many different countries. What a lovely job! 😉

Every Friday morning I run a session in a hostel for newly arrived people. I almost forget how smelly the rooms in that hostel are because I always have a great time with all the kids there. We play with lego and baby dolls, we dress up, and sometimes I teach them craft activities. Some of them can’t speak English, but we still have fun together. I won’t forget when an Iranian girl said to me: “no…no…speak English! You nice”. That was the best moment from my first day!! What a lovely job! 😉

My supervisor and I took young refugees on a trip to the Back to Backs House – a place that tells about the history of Birmingham. What a lovely job! 😉

We will have another trip to London! What a lovely job! 😉

Now the question arises: where can you find this lovely job?

This seems like a job advertisement! Hehehe 😉

This lovely job with lovely people is with The Children’s Society which is my JVC placement. Our office is located in the Jewellery Quarter, Birmingham. It’s nice because it is surrounded by a lot of expensive jewellery shops 😉
Working with children and young refugees is fantastic! They are really lovely and nice. It always makes me happy when they smile and say “Hello.”  This makes me really admire them because I know that some of them have very sad stories. I’m happy when I see them happy and through them I can see that HE also smiles at me! 😉

Picture by 10 year old from Iran

Picture by 10 year old from Iran

Let the little children come to me, and do not hinder them, for the kingdom of God belongs to such as these”         (Luke 18:16)

Diana is from Indonesia, she can be found smiling and enjoying life around Birmingham.

Leave a comment